General Discussions  
This is the place to discuss general issues related to the U-boat war or the war at sea in WWII. 
Re: Esso Bolivar
Posted by: Ken Dunn ()
Date: June 23, 2002 05:53PM

<HTML>Hi Steve,

The lifeboat from the Esso Bolivar was not targeted by U-126. I have been researching U-126 and Bauer for close to two years now and I have very closely examined the attack on the Esso Bolivar. My dad’s ship the SS Cardonia was sunk by U-126 the day before. I have also talked to survivors from the Esso Bolivar including a man that was in the lifeboat in question at arms length from the man that was killed. Only one lifeboat was able to be lowered. U-126 was firing it’s 105mm deck gun at the waterline of the Esso Bolivar at the time. The survivor told me (in writing and on the phone) that the lifeboat was being lowered in the shadows and the U-boat could not have seen it at the time.

From the survivor:

“The sub started firing the deck gun scoring hits on the Bolivar’s hull about three feet above the waterline, blasting holes about two feet in diameter, it was the pieces of metal from the hull that killed Chief Mate Hawkins Fudske and injured several others in the lifeboat.”

The lifeboat was already in the water at the time and the round hit slightly above it.