Allied Warships

USS Cogswell (DD 651)

Destroyer of the Fletcher class

NavyThe US Navy
PennantDD 651 
Built byBath Iron Works (Bath, Maine, U.S.A.) 
Ordered15 Dec 1941 
Laid down1 Feb 1943 
Launched5 Jun 1943 
Commissioned17 Aug 1943 
End service1 Oct 1969 

Decommissioned 30 April 1946.
Recommissioned 7 January 1951.
Decommissioned and stricken 1 October 1969.
Transferred to Turkey 1 October 1969 being renamed Izmit.
Izmit was stricken and broken up for scrap in 1980.


Commands listed for USS Cogswell (DD 651)

Please note that we're still working on this section
and that we only list Commanding Officers for the duration of the Second World War.

1Lt.Cdr. Harold Thomas Deutermann, USN17 Aug 194331 Oct 1944
2T/Cdr. Robert Elmore Lockwood, USN31 Oct 19447 Apr 1945 (1)
3Reuben Noel Perley, Jr., USN7 Apr 19454 Sep 1946

You can help improve our commands section
Click here to Submit events/comments/updates for this vessel.
Please use this if you spot mistakes or want to improve this ships page.

Notable events involving Cogswell include:

13 Nov 1943
USS Iowa (Capt. J.L. McCrea, USN) departed Chesapeake Bay for Mers El Kebir, Algeria. She is escorted by USS Cogswell (Cdr. H.T. Deutermann, USN), USS William D. Porter (Cdr. W.A. Walter, USN) and USS Young (Cdr. G.B. Madden, USN).

Iowa had on board President Roosevelt, Secretary of State Cordell Hull, Chief of Staff Admiral William D. Leahy, Chief of Staff of the Army General George C. Marshall, Chief of Naval Operations Ernest King, Commanding General of the U.S. Army Air Forces Henry Arnold, Harry Hopkins to Mers El Kébir, Algeria, This was the first leg of their journey to the Tehran Conference.

For the daily positions of USS Iowa during this passage see the map below.

12 Feb 1944
Task Force 58 departed Majuro Atoll for operation HAILSTONE, a raid against the Japanese base at Truk Atoll.

Task Force 58 was made up of the following ships;

Task Group 58.1
Aircraft carriers USS Enterprise (Capt. M.B. Gardner, USN), USS Yorktown (Capt. R.E. Jennings, USN), light carrier USS Belleau Wood (Capt. A.M. Pride, USN), light cruisers Santa Fé (Capt. J. Wright, USN), Mobile (Capt. C.J. Wheeler, USN), Biloxi (Capt. D.M. McGurl, USN), USS Oakland (Capt. W.K. Phillips, USN) and the destroyers USS Clarence K. Bronson (Lt.Cdr. J.C. McGoughran, USN), USS Cotten (Cdr. F.T. Sloat, USN), USS Dortch (Cdr. R.C. Young, USN), USS Gatling (Cdr. A.F. Richardson, USN), USS Healy (Cdr. J.C. Atkeson, USN), USS Cogswell (Cdr. H.T. Deutermann, USN), USS Caperton (Cdr. W.J. Miller, USN), USS Ingersoll (Cdr. A.C. Veasey, USN), USS Knapp (Cdr. F. Virden, USN).

Task Group 58.2
Aircraft carriers USS Essex (Capt. R.A. Ofstie, USN), USS Intrepid (Capt. T.L. Sprague, USN), light carrier USS Cabot (Capt. M.F. Schoeffel, USN), heavy cruisers USS Wichita (Capt J.J. Mahoney, USN), USS Baltimore (Capt. W.C. Calhoun, USN), light cruisers USS San Francisco (Capt. H.E. Overesch, USN), USS San Diego (Capt. L.J. Hudson, USN), destroyers USS Owen (Cdr. R.W. Wood, USN), USS Miller (Cdr. T.H. Kobey, USN), USS The Sullivans (Cdr. K.M. Gentry, USN), USS Stephen Potter (Cdr. C.H. Crichton, USN), USS Hickox (Cdr. W.M. Sweetser, USN), USS Hunt (Cdr. H.A. Knoertzer, USN), USS Lewis Hancock (Cdr. C.H. Lyman, 3rd, USN), USS Stembel (Cdr. W.L. Tagg, USN) and USS Stack (Lt.Cdr. R.E. Wheeler, USN).

Task Group 58.3
Aircraft carrier USS Bunker Hill (Capt. T.P. Jeter, USN), light carriers USS Monterey (Capt. L.T. Hundt, USN), USS Cowpens (Capt. R.P. McConnell, USN), battleships USS North Carolina (Capt. F.P. Thomas, USN), USS Massachusetts (Capt. T.D. Ruddock, Jr., USN), USS South Dakota (Capt. A.E. Smith, USN), USS Alabama (Capt. F.D. Kirtland, USN), USS Iowa (Capt. J.L. McCrea, USN), USS New Jersey (Capt. C.F. Holden, USN), heavy cruisers USS Minneapolis (Capt. R.W. Bates, USN), USS New Orleans (Capt. S.R. Shumaker, USN), destroyers USS Izard (Cdr. E.K. van Swearingen, USN), USS Charrette (Cdr. E.S. Karpe, USN), USS Conner (Cdr. W.E. Kaitner, USN), USS Bell (Cdr. L.C. Petross, USN), USS Burns (Cdr. D.T. Eller, USN), USS Bradford (Cdr. R.L. Morris, USN), USS Brown (Cdr. T.H. Copeman, USN), USS Cowell (Cdr. C.W. Parker, USN), USS Wilson (Lt.Cdr. C.K. Duncan, USN), USS Sterett (Lt.Cdr. F.J.L. Blouin, USN) and USS Lang (Cdr. H. Payson, Jr., USN).

20 Jul 1944
USS Iowa (Capt. J.L. McCrea, USN) anchored off Saipan Island and fuelled the destroyers USS Caperton (Cdr. W.J. Miller, USN) and USS Cogswell (Cdr. H.T. Deutermann, USN). She got underway again later the same day.

11 Aug 1945
USS Iowa (Capt. C. Wellborn, Jr., USN) topped off four of the destroyers of the Task Group, USS Benham (Lt.Cdr. W.L. Poindexter, USN), USS Cogswell (Cdr. R.N. Perley, Jr., USN), USS Uhlmann (Cdr. S.C. Small, USN) and USS Stockham (Cdr. D.L. Moody, USN), with fuel. Following the fuelling of these destroyers Iowa herself was fuelled by the oiler USS Neches (Cdr. H.G. Hansen, USN).

16 Aug 1945
USS Iowa (Capt. C. Wellborn, Jr., USN) topped off three of the destroyers of the Task Group, USS Twining (Cdr. F.V. List, USN), USS Cogswell (Cdr. R.N. Perley, Jr., USN) and USS Wedderburn (Lt.Cdr. R.W. Clark, USN), with fuel.

Media links

Destroyers of World War Two

Whitley, M. J.

U.S. Destroyers

Friedman, Norman

United States Destroyer Operations In World War II.

Roscoe, Theodore

Return to the Allied Warships section

As an Amazon Associate earns a commission from qualifying purchases.