General Discussions  
This is the place to discuss general issues related to the U-boat war or the war at sea in WWII. 
Re: U-505 books
Posted by: Eric ()
Date: June 24, 2004 03:06PM

David,

Welcome to the forum. 4 days is pretty early in your discovery/investigation. I had a similar situation (family member's ship sunk by uboat) and I remember my adrenaline was pumping pretty good when I found my first few nuggets of information. That's was two years ago and I'm still learning new things.

You're right that your lucky it was U-505 because there is so much out there on that particular boat. Can't really help you on the content of those books, but books are reviewed on this site and a list of books pertaining to a particular U-boat (unfortunately not usually to a particular ship sunk)can be found at the bottom of each U-boat summary.

In addition to books and movies there are many other excellent sources of information (and in the case of movies, better and more accurate). A lot of which is on this site. In the members area there is a brief description of the attack as well as a picture and various specifications of the Benmohr.

It all depends on how far you want to take your investigation, but in my opinion the best sources are the actual reports that would have been filed by both sides.